top of page

The Struggle Is Fiction

Being a writer is a lot of things I never thought it would be. It is a high like no other when people connect to your work. It is also soul-crushing when all you see is a brick wall standing between you and getting your work "out there." What does "out there" even mean? I feel like there is a fine line between being proud of/marketing your book and alienating all of your friends and family members because you keep throwing bookmarks at them every time you get together ;).


Sometimes (like yesterday) I say to myself "I.Give.Up. And I am never writing another novel as long as I live." And then my laptop smirks at me (MacBooks are pretentious. They smirk). So I back up my latest work one more time before I close the lid. Because I can't just stop writing. Even if I stopped marketing, deleted my social media accounts, stopped selling books, I wouldn't stop writing them.


So instead of keeping my hasty promise, I ate a lot of pretzels and a peanut butter Clif Bar, shopped a little bit online, and got a massive caffeinated beverage from Starbucks, and I sat down to learn how to write a press release. Because even though I can't stop writing, 90% of the fun part kicks in when other people read it. So if you're a reader, and you like an author's work (especially an indie author!) do let them know. It will save us from having passive aggressive conversations with our computers. And if you're a writer... well, you're not alone. And if you ever want to commiserate or brag or vent or whatever over DM, email, chat, whatever, hit me up :).



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page